Miguel Neves on Collaborating at ECEU & Sharing About Social Media

The following reflection is written by Event Camp Europe speaker Miguel Neves.

Being a lab rat at Event Camp Europe was a unique learning experience. It was an incredibly full day with so much to take in but the energy never left the room and I felt like I could learn from every single attendee.

Presenting on social media to an audience of social media enthusiasts was a tall order. My attempt to make the presentation a collaborative effort using an online open Google document was not entirely successful, but it was definitely an interesting experiment and one worth doing. The response on the Twitter backchannel was excellent. I had almost 30 mentions as soon as I ended my talk and over 50 throughout the day.

“Lets figure out social media” is a collaborative presentation about getting to the bottom of social media. Over the last four years I have taken a roller coaster ride with social media and I have met some wonderful people who have taught me and shared their knowledge. This is my was of sharing my knowledge and acknowledging all the excellent content that I have been lucky enough to have been exposed to.

My presentation addresses the issue of social media strategy by looking at visualising and understating social media channels, finding and listening to your audience and the complex issue of social media ROI. I do not have all the answers but I do have some and I am happy to share and discuss any of the points I presented. Feel free to comment and help me co-create at: www.bit.ly/m7socialmediaedit (make sure to credit your changes)

Click here to see the video recording of Let’s Figure Out Social Media with Miguel Neves.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in European event planners, event camp europe, social media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

